Just In: APC Sweeps Historic Osun Local Government Parliamentary Election

The Osun Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) as announced all the 389 candidates of the All Progressive Congress (APC) as winners of the contested, Saturday Osun councillorship election.

Releasing the official results to newsmen in Osogbo on Sunday, the Chairman of OSIEC, Mr Segun Oladitan said 318 out of the candidates were however returned unopposed.

Oladitan said 128 of the unopposed returned candidates were from Osun Central Senatorial District, while 117 were from Osun West and the remaining 73 from Osun East Senatorial District.

He said the remaining 71 other candidates that added up the total councillorship seat figure were the ones voted for at the poll on Saturday.

He said 52 of the voted candidates came from Osun East,13 from the West while the remaining six came from Osun Central Senatorial District.

Oladitan said as published in the newspapers and as announced by the commission during a press conference, all the names of all the APC candidates (as published) are hereby declared as winners and returned as councillors of the state.

The OSIEC Chairman, after his announcement and declaration, issued certificate of return to all the councillors, both elected and unopposed .

OSIEC had earlier announced that 318 candidates of the APC were contesting unopposed, leaving only 71 wards to be contested for by the remaining candidates.

OSIEC also stated that elected councillors would be running a parliamentary administrative system at the local government, where the councillors would elect a chairman from amongst them.

One thought on “Just In: APC Sweeps Historic Osun Local Government Parliamentary Election”

  1. The process was very free and fair. Results were announced at each polling unit. Accreditation and voting were done simultaneously. No delay, no queue.
    Kudos to Ogbeni Aregbesola and Ossiec for this election.
    Congratulations to APC!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *