FLASH: APC NEC Extends Oyegun’s Tenure, As Saraki, Dogara Shun Meeting

FLASH: APC NEC Extends Oyegun’s Tenure, As Saraki, Dogara Shun Meeting
  • PublishedFebruary 27, 2018

Senate President Bukola Saraki is not among the members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the ongoing national executive council meeting of the ruling party.

The number three citizen was also absent on Monday night when President Muhammadu Buhari hosted the APC caucus at the presidential villa in Abuja.

The meetings, which Saraki has missed for the second time in a row, are strategic to the forthcoming election.

On Monday, the president told top members of the party to prepare for the 2019 elections. He also thanked them for standing by him “despite the antics of the opposition”.

Governors, ministers and top members of the ruling party are at the meeting holding at the headquarters of the APC in Abuja.

But Yakubu Dogara, speaker of the house of representatives, is not also at the meeting as Buhari had taken his seat at the time speaker arrived.

By protocol, all guest ought to have been seated before the arrival of the president.

Earlier in the day, Saraki was at the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT), where his trial was adjourned following a complaint by Kanu Agabi, his counsel.

Dino Melaye, senator representing Kogi west, accompanied him to the tribunal.

Meanwhile, the party has announced a one year tenure extension of the party’s National Working Committee led by the APC National chairman John Odigie-Oyegun.


Kogi state governor, Yahaya Bello announced the extension during the party’s National Executive Committee being presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari.


In attendance at the meeting are the national chairman of the party, John Odigie-Oyegun, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, state governors elected under the party, members of the APC National Working Committee and others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *