CBN Directors: Senate Confirms 4 Persons As One Rejects Nomination

CBN Directors: Senate Confirms 4 Persons As One Rejects Nomination
  • PublishedFebruary 29, 2024

Four nominees out of five from President Bola Tinubu to serve on the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) were confirmed by the Senate on Thursday.

The Committee Chairman on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions, Senator Mikhail Adetokunbo Abiru, representing Lagos East Senatorial District, said in a report submitted to the Chambers that the nominees were satisfactorily screened.

The lawmaker maintained that their nomination by President Tinubu was in line with Section 6(1)(10)(D) of the CBN Act.

Abiru told his colleagues that there was no petition against any of the nominees, adding that there were no security reports about them by the Department of State Service, DSS, or the Nigeria Police and that they had also fulfilled the Code of Conduct Bureau requirements.

He said: “He also said, the nominees have knowledge of the industry and have the capability to serve on the CBN board ”

Meanwhile, one of the nominees from Abia State, Urum Kalu Eke, rejected the nomination, saying that he has another engagement with the World Bank.

Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, representing Abia North Senatorial District, disclosed this to the chamber.

He said, “Mr. President and Distinguished Colleagues, Mr. Urum is my constituent, and he called to say that there will be a conflict of interest in his nomination as CBN board director.

“That he wishes to decline, while he has already informed the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.”

After contributions, the Deputy Senate President, Jibrin Barau, who presided over the plenary, confirmed the nominees through a voice vote: The nominees confirmed are:

1. Mr Robert Agbede
2. Mr Ado Yakubu Wanka
3. Professor Muritala Sabo Sagagi
4. Mrs. Muslimat Olanike Aliyu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *