featured Sports

AFCON: Rohr Releases Final 23-Man Squad, Drops Iheanacho, Ajayi

AFCON: Rohr Releases Final 23-Man Squad, Drops Iheanacho, Ajayi
  • PublishedJune 9, 2019

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has announce his final squad list for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt, after releasing a provisional list of 25 players to prepare for the biennial competition in Asaba, Delta State.

Despite the return of team captain, John Obi MIkel Nigeria failed to ease pass the Warriors of Zimbabwe in an Africa Cup of Nations friendly match played at the Stephen Keshi Stadium and the Franco-German manager has decided to drop two players from the initial 25 players called to camp.

Before the encounter, the former Niger Republic coach has hinted he would be dropping a midfielder and an attacker from the squad and that was confirmed by the Nigeria Football Federation this morning when the coach announces his squad ahead of the 32nd edition of the tournament.

Out of form Leicester City striker, Kelechi Iheanacho was the striker dropped from the squad as expected by many Nigerians, he is followed by the versatile Semi Ajayi who can play as a central-defender, right-back and also as a defensive midfielder.

The rest of the squad would fly out of the country to Egypt from Asaba in a chartered flight alongside the Warriors of Zimbabwe by 4pm local time. The three-time Africa champions will set up training base in Ismailia, where they will play a final warm-up game against Senegal on Sunday, June 16.

The Super Eagles squad comprises of 3 goalkeepers, 7 defenders, 4 midfielders and 9 strikers

Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany).
Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *