Women’s World Cup: Four Countries Qualify For Quarter-Final

Women’s World Cup: Four Countries Qualify For Quarter-Final
  • PublishedAugust 6, 2023

No fewer than four countries have qualified for the quarter-final of the ongoing 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup taking place in New Zealand and Australia.

OSUN DEFENDER reports that the four countries are the Netherlands, Sweden, Spain and Japan.

World Cup

The Netherlands and Sweden were the latest countries to book their places in the quarter-final stage after beating South Africa and the United States, respectively, on Sunday.

This comes following the conclusion of Sunday’s Round of 16 fixtures.

It was gathered that the Netherlands defeated South Africa 2-0, while Sweden won against the United States via a penalty shootout after the match ended in a 0-0 draw after 120 minutes.

Spain and Japan had since booked their places in the last-8 on Saturday.

The Round of 16 fixtures will continue on Monday.

Nigeria will take on England, while Australia will clash with Denmark.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *