Senate Confirms Five INEC Commissioners

Senate Confirms Five INEC Commissioners
  • PublishedJuly 13, 2021


The Nigerian Senate has confirmed the appointment of five National Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The nominees of the President Muhammadu Buhari, who were confirmed were, Prof. Muhammad Sani Kallah (Katsina); Prof. Kunle Ajayi ( Ekiti); and Saidu Ahmad (Jigawa), Baba Bila (North East) and Abdullahi Zuru (North- West).

Also, the Senate, following the recommendation of its panel, stepped down the confirmation of Professor Sani Adam from North Central because of the petitions against him.
Recall that Osun Defender had earlier reported that Senate rejected the nomination of the Personal Assistant on Social Media to President Muhammadu Buhari, Lauretta Onochie as a Commissioner of INEC.
The presidential aide was rejected following the report by Senator Kabiru Gaya-led Senate Committee.

According to the committee, Onochie’s nomination breaches Federal Character principles.
Kabir Gaya cited Section 14 (1) 3 of the Constitution, stating that somebody was already a Commissioner from her zone, and the law remains clear about that.
The committee said there is currently a serving commissioner from Delta state, where Onochie hails from.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *