featured Sports

PFA Awards: Man City, Arsenal Players Dominate List

PFA Awards: Man City, Arsenal Players Dominate List
  • PublishedAugust 17, 2023

Six players have been shortlisted for the annual Professional Players’ Association PFA awards.

The shortlist was released on Thursday via the verified handle of the PFA on X (formerly Twitter), @PFA.

A collage of the six nominees

Among the shortlist are three Manchester City players – Erling Haaland, Kevin De Bruyne and John Stones, who were part of the treble-winning side last season.

Also included in the star-studded list are two Arsenal stars, Bukayo Saka and 24-year-old team captain, Martin Ødegaard.

Saka and Ødegaard were instrumental in Mikel Arteta’s side, both contributing a total of 29 goals in the EPL.

The Gunners had an impressive campaign in the English top flight, finishing as first runner-up with five points behind league holders, Man City.

Haaland had quite an impressive debut season in English football, racking up 36 goals in the season, a new EPL record.

His fellow clubmate and skipper, De Bruyne, has been praised for making accurate passes, on-pitch intelligence and awareness. The Belgian star player was highly instrumental to the Citizens’ trophy-laden run.

English centre back, John Stones was pushed up by coach, Pep Guardiola into the midfield; a position he played elegantly.

Former Tottenham captain, Harry Kane also made the list.

Kane, who is the record goalscorer for the North London outfit with 280 goals, had a good campaign the previous season as he bagged 30 goals in the domestic league.

Both Haaland and Saka made the list of the Young Player of the Year nominees.

Players’ Player of the Year nominees:

1. Erling Haaland – Manchester City

2. Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City

3. Bukayo Saka – Arsenal

4. Harry Kane – Tottenham

5. Matin Ødegaard – Arsenal

6. John Stones – Manchester City

Young Player of the Year nominees:

1. Erling Haaland – Manchester City

2. Bukayo Saka – Arsenal

3. Moises Caicedo – Brighton

4. Evan Ferguson – Brighton

5. Jacob Ramsey – Aston Villa

6. Gabriel Martinelli – Arsenal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *