News Osun

Osun Govt. Constitutes 2023 Public Procurement Committee

Osun Govt.  Constitutes 2023 Public Procurement Committee
  • PublishedJanuary 26, 2023

As part of efforts to ensure transparency and accountability in governance as championed by Senator Ademola Adeleke, the State Ministry of Works and Transport has inaugurated the year 2023 procurement committee and Ministerial tenders board.

The inauguration of the committee,which is an annual exercise, is to ensure that the Ministry of Works and Transport does not run foul of the dictates of the Osun Public Procurement Law, 2015 as amended in 2019 on the procurement of goods, works and consultancy services.

The inauguration of the committee, which was held in the Conference room of the Ministry, on Thursday in Osogbo.

Speaking shortly after the inauguration, the Coordinating Director, Ministry of Works and Transport, Engr Olusola Ajao said absolute compliance with the procurement law is a major step towards prudent public finance management that would ensure maximum value for government.

He urged the committee to ensure that there is Public Procurement Agency certification of all procurement prior to, during and after awards of contract in line with the provision of the law.

While urging members of the committee to be aware of the consequences for contravening the law, Engr. Ajao admonished them to quickly clear any doubt or grey area with the General Manager of Osun Public Procurement Agency if there is anything not clear.

According to him, “we do this formal inauguration because we want to constantly remind ourselves of the need to do what is right everytime. All due diligence must be followed in any procurement, we must not run foul of the law and we must ensure transparency and accountability all the time”, He stated.

Also speaking, the General Manager, Osun State Public Procurement Agency, Engr. Adesina Oyetola, after observing the constitution and Inauguration of the committee, expressed delight that the Ministry of Works and Transport is taking the right step to ensure accountability in the usage of public funds.

He enjoined the committee to ensure strict compliance with the procurement law while calling on other Ministries, Departments and Agencies of Government to follow suit in the quest to ensure public financial management.

Members of the committee include: Q.S. Moses Oladele, Director, Public Building, Engr. Adetomiwa Zubayr, Director, Mechanical and Electrical, Engr. Lawrence Onilearo, Director, Geotechnics, Structures and Laboratory, Engr. I.B Bello, Director, Highways, Engr O.O Salami.

Others are: Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, Mr Muhammed Mustapha, Director, Finance and Accounts and Director, Administration and Supplies, Mr Isiaka Yaha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *