featured hero Osun Politics

Osun Assembly Confirms Gov Oyetola’s 35 Commissioner Nominees

Osun Assembly Confirms Gov Oyetola’s 35 Commissioner Nominees
  • PublishedOctober 9, 2019

Osun State House of Assembly on Wednesday confirmed the 35 nominees for the Commissioner and Special Adviser slots to serve in the cabinet of Governor Gboyega Oyetola of Osun.

The confirmation at a plenary, presided over by the Speaker, Timothy Owoeye followed the screening of the nominees by the Assembly, between Monday September 30 and Monday , October 7.

Moving a motion for the confirmation of their approval on Wednesday, the Majority Leader, Moroof Olanrewaju said all the nominees have been found to be worthy of the appointments.

The motion was seconded by the lawmaker representing Osogbo State Constituency, Taofeek Badmus.

Owoeye tasked the appointees to be focus and not defray from the mandate of developing the state, saying this is the only way they can justify the confidence repose in them.

He urged the governor to ensure that appropriate persons are given the portfolios where they can properly deliver.

“The appointees should not see this opportunity as a way to enrich themaelves, but to serve the people of the state.

“They should put aside personal aggrandizement and allow the interest of the populace to be paramount”.

Deputy Speaker, Femi Popoola and the Minority Leader, Adewumi Babajide said, all the nominees that appeared before the parliament were found to be worthy of the positions and have the capacity to assist the government in developing the state.

Also, the Chief Whip, Tunji Olalekan and other parliamentarians who spoke one after the other said, all the nominees were discovered to be men who are well prepared for the task ahead.

They said going by the resume of the nominees and the display of their knowledge and understanding about governance during the screening, they have the capacity to deliver on any mandate that might be given to them.

The commended the governor for diligently appointing such people to serve in the cabinet.

The governor on Thursday, September 24 submitted the list of the nominees to the parliament for approval.

The newly-approved Commissioner and Special Adviser designates are:
1. Adebisi Obawale Simeon
2. Ibitoye Adeniran Felix
3. Sola Oladepo
4. Ajisefinni Abiodun
5. Mumini Adekunle Rafiu
6. Ogunfolaju Christian
7. Olanibi Segun
8. Agunbiade Nathaniel
9. Oladoyin Olayinka Folorunsho
10. Akeju Taiwo
11. Lawal Azeez Opeyemi
12. Olaonipekun Henry Olabode
13. Adeleke Yekinni Adebayo
14. Olamiju Olasiji
15. Yinusa Olalekan
16. Isamotu Rafiu
17. Bola Oyebamiji
18. Omowaiye Oluremi
19. Olawumi Jamiu Babatunde
20. Akande Oluwafemi Jimoh
21. Olawale Babatunde Olumide
22. Olaniyan Hussein
23. Adeosun Rasak
24. Badmus Olalekan Rahamon
25. Bakare Akande
26. Latifat Giwa
27. Tadese Raheem
28. Adewole Adedayo
29. Lawal Tajudeen
30. Babalola Idiat
31. Kolajo Aderemi
32. Egbemode Funke Adenike
33. Kareem Ismail Akande
34. Oyegbile Rufus
35. Olaboopo Olubukola Rianat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *