NJC Seeks Appointments Of 9 Heads of Courts, 84 Judicial Officers, As Osun Gets 4 Nominations

NJC Seeks Appointments Of 9 Heads of Courts, 84 Judicial Officers, As Osun Gets 4 Nominations
  • PublishedJanuary 21, 2023

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended the appointment of nine Heads of Courts and 84 other judicial officers as part of coordinated efforts to get the judiciary ready for any potential difficulties that may arise during the next general elections.

The appointed individuals would serve in the nation’s Federal and State Courts after being appointed.

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, presided over the Council’s 100th meeting on Saturday in Abuja, where the nominees were interviewed and then presented for recommendations by the panel.

The statement by NJC’S Director of Information Mr Soji Oye listed those recommended for posts of Chief Judges to include Justice Muhammad Tukur Mu’azu Aliyu for Kaduna, Justice Majebi Josiah Joe for Kogi, Justice Odusola Aiyedun Olusegun for Ondo, Justice Halima Sa’addiya Mohammed for Gombe and Justice Lilian Abai for Abia State.

Others are Justice Abdulateef Kamaldeen as Grand Kadi, Kwara State, Justice Stanley Adekunle Lawal, President, Customary Court of Appeal, FCT, Justice Monisola Oluwatoyin Abodunde as President, Customary Court of Appeal in Ekiti and Justice Uhuo Patrick Uchenna as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Ebonyi State.

A breakdown of the recommended 84 Judicial officers showed that four are for the Ondo High Court, namely Akinbinu Sylvester Femi, Leonard Boyede Ologun, Bolatito Florence Ajibade and Akinwumi Bankole Jacob.

The Customary Court of Appeal in Ekiti has three nominees, Lawrence Babatope Ojo, Adegboye Rotimi Adesoji and Ogundele Olufolakemi Olufunke.

Borno State has five and they include Amina Mustapha, Ibrahim Mohammed Maina, Hafsatu Isah Bappah, Bukar Malgwi Umar and Mallam Buna Makinta while Anambra has two comprising
Etomike Innocent Ndigwe and Tagbo Chinwuba Anieto.

The five nominated for the Sokoto High Court bench are Bashar Ibrahim, Fatima Ahmadu Suka, Abubakar Adamu, Kabiru Muhammad and Amina Modi Yabo while the Sharia Court of Appeal in the state has two nominees as Kadi and are Idris Adamu and Mustapha Abdullahi Ahmad.

Ogun State High Court has 8 nominees comprising Oluwafunke Omolara Odubanjo, Adelaja Adeola Ireti, Basirat Bolanle Adebowale, Adebayo Bamidele Adedapo, Ayodele Adebayo Omoniyi, Sunday Olufemi Adeniyi, Awofeso Ireti-Olu Babatunde and Abimola Christopher Shokunbi.

The two nominees for Bayelsa State High Court are Charlie Ebiyon Duke and Ekadi Amadise Michael while the six for Ebonyi State are Esther Awo Ota, BUkeni Ogoke Stella Ejituruchi, Ruth Obaji Okeh, Blessing Ibeabuchi Chukwu, Christopher Ofoke Mbam and Francis-Abba Solange Amaka.

The National Industrial Court of Nigeria has six nominees including Buhari Sani, Damachi-Onugba Agede Joyce, Hassan Muhammed Yakubu, Sandra Audu Yelwa, Subilim Emmanuel Danjuma and Muhammad Adamu Hamza.

Cross Rivers High Court has two nominees in persons of Okokon Edem Nyong and Amajama Jacob Eneji while the four for Adamawa High Court are Christopher Dominic Mapeo, Ahmed Isa, Mohammed Ibrahim Tola and Benjamin Lawan Manji.

Besides, Adamawa has one Kadi nominee for its Sharia Court of Appeal in person of Isa Yusuf Khalid while its Customary Court of Appeal has another Judge nominee in the person of Adabala Nicholas.

The breakdown showed that Rivers State High Court has five candidates comprising Asivosuo Maccarthy Oriye, Omonigho Nwibani, Comfort Ifikmotu- Awaji Adangor, Prince Chika Mini and Beauty Ihuoma Emmanuel-Okere while its Customary Court of Appeal has two Judges nominees, Odiki Daniel- Kalio and Tetenwi Ngeli Elerabari.

Zamfara High Court has four and are Abdullahi Muhammad Gusau, Umar Adulnasir, Saad Garba Gurbin-Bore and Muntaka Ahmad Ya’akubu.

Osun State High Court has four nominees comprising Lasisi Muhammed Adebayo, Awe Micheal Oludare, Fatimah Adejoke Sodamade and Owolawi Joseph Olukunle while has one and is Adamu Mohammed Jajere as well as one Kadi for its Sharia Court of Appeal in the person of Kasim Mohammed Kasim.

Kaduna State High Court bench has seven candidates and are Yakubu Bodamasi, Abdullahi Isiaka, Buhari Mohammed Balarabe Bashir Shitu Yusuf, Nana Fatima Mohammed John Aku Ambi and Joyce Asabe Akaa’ahs.

Apart from the recommended seven high court Judges, NJC also sought for appointment of five Kadis for the Kaduna Sharia Court of Appeal and they are Aminu Ahmad Jumare, Nuhu Mahmud, Murtala Nasir, Abdulrahman Ibrahim and Mahdi Muhammad Suraj.

In the same vein, the Kaduna Customary Court of Appeal is to have three Judges and they are Dorothy Sim Inwulale, Atung Dorcas Tabitha and Yusuf Yakubu.

The breakdown also showed that the Plateau State Customary Court of Appeal has only one Judge nominee in the person of Jettei T. Pekun.

The NJC statement indicated that all recommended candidates would be sworn- in upon approval of their recommendations by their respective state governors and State Houses of Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *