Niger 2018: CAF Disqualifies Golden Eaglets Players From U-17 AFCON

Niger 2018: CAF Disqualifies Golden Eaglets Players From U-17 AFCON
  • PublishedSeptember 3, 2018

Golden Eaglets players have been disqualified by Confederation of African Football (CAF) from participating in the ongoing Africa U17 Cup of Nations zonal qualifiers after failing the mandatory magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) tests.

The affected players are defender Sani Abacha Suleiman and midfielder Saviour Johnson Isaac and they would have wore the number two and eight jerseys respectively if they were not sent packing by the tournament organizers.

Hosts Niger had one of their players disqualified, same as Togo and Burkina Faso, while two Ivorian players in the shape of Lakou Ndatien Mickael Toure and Yao Serge Eric Konan have been declared ineligible to play in the zonal qualifiers.

Nigeria’s opponents in Group B, Republic of Benin, will no longer participate in the U17 AFCON zonal qualifiers after ten of their players failed the MRI tests.

The Golden Eaglets 18-man roster contains three goalkeepers, five midfielders, seven midfielders and three strikers.

The Manu Garba led side will take on Burkina Faso on Monday, September 3 and will wrap up group play against Ivory Coast three days later.

Both games will be staged at the Stade Municipal in the Nigerien capital Niamey.

Nigeria U17 AFCON Qualifiers Squad

Goalkeepers (3): John Ikedinachukwu Amah, Joseph John Essien, Joseph Ayomide Oluwabusola

Defenders (5): David Akulo Ishaya, Sunday Cletus Odey, Clement Chigozie Ikenna, Muhammad Ibrahim, Adam Agba’a Mustapha

Midfielders (7): Samson Okikiola Tijani, Hassan Hussaini, Olatomi Alfred Olaniyan, Peter Agba, Babatunde Jimoh Akinsola, Ibraheem Olalekan Jabaar, Akinwunmi Ayobami Amoo

Forwards (3): Oluwatimilehin Lawrence Adeniyi, Olakunle Olusegun Junior, Favour Akem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *