Lawmakers’ Defection ‘Shows Buhari’s Govt Has Failed Woefully’ – Ologbondiyan

Lawmakers’ Defection ‘Shows Buhari’s Govt Has Failed Woefully’ – Ologbondiyan
  • PublishedJuly 25, 2018

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) says the defection of some lawmakers from the All Progressives Congress (APC) is an indication that President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration has failed.

National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mr Kola Ologbondiyan, made the claim on Wednesday in an interview with Channels Television, one day after dozens of lawmakers in the National Assembly dumped the APC.

“We are very happy with their defection because it signposts the fact that President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration has failed woefully, and Nigerians have become disenchanted with the government,” Ologbondiyan said during his appearance on Sunrise Daily.

He added, “The representatives of Nigerians are demonstrating the anger and the disappointment of Nigerians with their government. That is what led to the defection that we are witnessing.”

The PDP spokesman noted that his party is upbeat and has been accepted as the party of choice in the country following the defections.

He faulted the report that the defection of the lawmakers was a fallout of the disagreement with the APC governors.

Ologbondiyan also disclosed that some governors on the platform of the ruling party would be joining the PDP soon.

He stated that on the other hand, his party has an established a framework for public office holders coming into the party, especially for governors and lawmakers.

According to the National Publicity Secretary, the PDP leadership held several discussions recently with existing party members to explain the situation in which they have found themselves, including the cases of defections and forming a coalition with other political parties.

He, however, insisted that “What happened on the floor of the Senate, as well as the floor of the House of Representatives, is a clear indication of the rejection of APC and the President Muhammadu Buhari by Nigerians.”

Dino Melaye (Kogi), Rabiu Kwankwaso (Kano), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna), Abdulazeez Nyako (Adamawa), Barnabas Gemade (Benue), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), and eight other senators had announced their exit from the APC on Tuesday.

Danburam Nuhu, Mark Gbilah, Razak Atunwa, Ahmed Bichi, Abdulsamad Dasuk, Zakari Mohammed, Sani Rano, and 30 other members of the House of Representatives also dumped the ruling party.

Hours after their defection, President Buhari in a statement by his spokesman Garba Shehu wished the lawmakers well in their future endeavours.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *