Judicial Commission To Probe Fayemi

Judicial Commission To Probe Fayemi
  • PublishedMay 22, 2017

Ayodele Fayose, the Ekiti State Governor has set up a Judicial Commission of Enquiry to probe his predecessor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, over alleged mismanagement of state funds under him.

This was in compliance with the resolution of the Ekiti State House of Assembly passed on May 10, 2017, pursuant to Section 2 of the Ekiti State Commission of Enquiry Law Cap C10 Laws of Ekiti State 2012.
Acting under Section 129 of the 1999 Constitution, the assembly had on March 22, 2016, and February 7, 2017, summoned Fayemi to come and defend himself over alleged diversion of N852m Universal Basic Education Board’s fund during his time.

But the former governor refused to honour the invitation and instead wrote the assembly on one occasion stating that the explanation sought was contained in his handover note.

According to a statement made available by the Secretary to the State Government, Dr. Modupe Alade, on Monday, the commission would look into the financial transactions of Ekiti State between 2010 and 2014.

It would ascertain how much Ekiti State Government received as statutory allocations during the period under review and how same were disbursed.

Other Terms of Reference of the commission is: To ascertain the amount received on behalf of the state from the Universal Basic Education Commission.

*To investigate the allegation of fraud/loss of funds, including the diversion and conversion of the State Universal Basic Education Board Fund.

*To ascertain the amount the Ekiti State Government took as loans during the period under review and how they were utilised and all other issues relating to the finances of the Ekiti State Government within the period under review and;

The commission which has Justice Silas Bamidele Oyewole (Retd.) as chairman and the Director Public Prosecution, Mr. Gbemiga Adaramola as (secretary), would also make appropriate recommendations to the state government.

Other members of the panel are (Mrs) Bolawale Awe, Chief Magistrate Idowu Ayenimo, Mr. Omodara O. Vincent, Mr. Oladele Blessing (representative of Labour Union), and Mrs. Adesoba Oluremi‎ (Estate Valuer/Architect), and Mr S.B.J Bamise, who is to act as counsel to the Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *