featured hero Osun Politics

INEC Declares Gboyega Oyetola As Osun Governor-Elect

INEC Declares Gboyega Oyetola As Osun Governor-Elect
  • PublishedSeptember 28, 2018

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC, has declared the candidate the All Progressives Congress APC, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, winner of the Osun state governorship election.

Oyetola was declared winner having polled the highest votes of 255, 505 to defeat the candidate of PDP, Senator Ademola Adeleke who polled 255,023.

Oyetola would succeed Governor Rauf Aregbesola of APC.

The result was announced by Prof Joseph Adeola Fiwape

The results of the seven polling units were announced at the INEC headquarters in Osogbo about eight hours after the election ended amid tight security presence.

INEC had declared the governorship election inconclusive after the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Senator Ademola Adeleke defeated the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola with 353 votes margin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *