INEC Declares Diri Winner Of Bayelsa Election

INEC Declares Diri Winner Of Bayelsa Election
  • PublishedNovember 13, 2023

Governor Duoye Diri of Bayelsa State has been re-elected and declared winner of the November 11 gubernatorial election in the state.

Diri defeated his closest rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), with over 60,000 votes.

The PDP candidate scored a total of 175,196 votes while Sylva trailed with 110,108 votes leaving a gap of 65,088 votes.

The total valid votes cast according to the Returning Officer, Prof Faruq Kuta was 287, 554, 3,658 were rejected while a total of 291,212 votes were cast.

The Vice Chancellor of the Federal University Of Technology, Minna, Prof Faruq Kuta, announced the result of the election after the collation of results of all the eight local governments.

The off-cycle election in Bayelsa was the last to be announced after Governo Hope Uzodimma won in Imo and Ahmed Ododo won the Kogi gubernatorial poll.

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress have rejected the result.

The APC agent at the collation centre who refused to sign the result sheet accused INEC of colluding with the PDP to rig the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *