INEC Creates New Centers in Ondo State, Appoints New Rec

INEC Creates New Centers in Ondo State, Appoints New Rec
  • PublishedJuly 10, 2017

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ondo State has created an additional six voter registration centres to ease the registration process for newly eligible voters in the state.

The head of INEC’s Voters Education and Publicity Department in the state disclosed this in a statement issued and obtained in Akure, the state capital.

Olabimpe Awoniyi listed the new registration centres as Akure Town Hall, St. Paul Primary School in Ore, Youth Centre in Odode Idanre, Oke Igbo Town Hall, St. Patrick Primary School in Yaba Ondo and CAC Primary School in Idoani.

He said the new registration centres would make it easier for new and eligible Ondo State voters to exercise their constitutional rights by registering to vote.

He explained that the ongoing registration exercises being carrying out in all states in Nigeria are for persons who have turned eighteen years of age since the last election or missed the previous exercises.

Meanwhile, a new Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Mutiu Adegboke, has been posted to the state by INEC.

Mr. Adegboke, who hails from Ogun State, is an alumnus of the African Church Grammar School, Abeokuta, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, and the University of Ilorin.

The new REC replaced Olusegun Agbaje, whose tenure expired after conducting the 2016 gubernatorial race.

It was gathered that INEC Secretary Augusta Ogakwu confirmed the posting of Mr. Olaleke to Ondo State in a statement issued in Abuja.

In the statement, the INEC National Chairman, Mahmoud Yakubu, advised Mr. Olaleke to adhere strictly to the provisions of the constitution, the electoral act and other legal frameworks in the discharge of his duties the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *