Education News

Governor Sanwo-Olu Announces 13 New Members Of LASU Governing Council

Governor Sanwo-Olu Announces 13 New Members Of LASU Governing Council
  • PublishedJune 28, 2021

The Lagos State governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has announced 13 new members of governing council for the Lagos State University (LASU).
It was gathered that governor Sanwo-Olu appointed David Sunmoni, former Lagos accountant general, as the council’s chairman.
This was contained by the Lagos State governor special adviser on education, Tokunbo Wahab, who said the appointment was based on the report of the special visitation panel on the appointment of the 9th vice-chancellor.

According to him, ” the visitation panel recommended the dissolution of the previous governing council of the university by the powers conferred on the governor by the Lagos State University Law, Cap L69 volume 7, Laws of Lagos State, 2015 (as amended).

“Other members of the council are Amuwo Shaffudeen, Anuoluwa Eso, Tolani Sule, Ifeanyi Chukwuma Odii, Karl Toriola, Adekunle Soname, Foluke Abdul- Rasaq, Moronke Williams, Adebayo Akinsanya, Adenike Fasheun, Mojisola Taiwo, and Hakeem Adetugbobo”, he stated.

The governor said that the date for the formal inauguration of the new governing council would be announced later.

It was learnt that LASU has been in crisis since the tenure of Olarewaju Fagbohun, the institution’s eighth VC, expired on January 11, 2021.

A few days before Fagbohun’s tenure expired, Sanwo-Olu had cancelled the previous process for the appointment of a new VC on the back of petitions arising from the selection procedure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *