Crime News

EFCC Apprehends 13 Illegal Miners

EFCC Apprehends 13 Illegal Miners
  • PublishedSeptember 1, 2022

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Ilorin Zonal Command, Kwara State, has arrested 13 suspected illegal miners operating in Kakafu village, in the Patigi Local Government Area of the state.


This was revealed by the spokesperson for the agency in the state, Ayodele Babatunde, in a statement, on Thursday.

He said the suspects were arrested on Tuesday during a joint operation which followed credible intelligence received by the EFCC operatives over some suspected illegal miners operating in the area.


Babatunde said the operation was carried out in conjunction with the state command of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps and the Federal Mines and Steel Development.


He said the illegal miners were arrested over alleged nonpayment of royalties to the Federal Government.



According to him, “The suspects are Buba Mohammed, Yusuf Umar, Surajo Shehu, Abubakar Abdullahi, Salisu Mohammed, Quadri Sulaiman, Nwafor Chinonso, Abdullahi Isa, Mustapha Mohammed, Buhari Hassan, Basiru Jafaru, Murtala Jafaru, and Jafaru Abdullahi.


“Five trucks fully loaded with different brands of solid minerals were recovered from the suspects. Preliminary investigations revealed that the suspects were not paying royalties to the federal government as required by law.


“The suspects will soon be charged to court upon the conclusion of the ongoing investigation.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *