featured hero Osun

Court Dismisses Suit Against Aregbesola’s Loyalists In Osun

Court Dismisses Suit Against Aregbesola’s Loyalists In Osun
  • PublishedOctober 22, 2021


A Magistrates Court, sitting in Osogbo, capital of the State of Osun, has dismissed the case filed against seven loyalists of the Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola.

In a ruling on Friday, the court, presided by Magistrate Dr Olusegun Ayilara, dismissed the suit filed by the Police against the leaders of The Osun Progressives (TOP), a caucus of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

The Police through its prosecutor, John Idoko, had on August 23, 2021 arraigned APC Chairman, Alhaji Rasaq Salinsile and former APC Chairman, Reverend Adelowo Adebiyi.

Others are Engr. Kazeem Salami, Comrade Biyi Odunlade, Barrister Gbenga Akano; and two APC members from Ilesa – Alaba Popoola and Azeez Adekunle who were charged of attempted murder, assault, breach of peace.

Magistrate Ayilara had on September 25 adjourned the case when the prosecutor, Idoko, said he was not aware that Governor Adegboyega Oyetola had directed that the case be discontinued.

However, when the case came up at the court today, Magistrate Ayilara discharged and acquitted the accused persons.

He thereafter dismissed the case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *