featured Politics

Bye-Elections: APC Wins In Bauchi, Kwara, Katsina

Bye-Elections: APC Wins In Bauchi, Kwara, Katsina
  • PublishedNovember 19, 2018

Candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have emerged as winners of the bye-elections conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Bauchi, Kwara and Katsina states.

The bye-elections were conducted on Saturday to fill three vacant seats in the House of Representatives in the respective states.

In Bauchi State, APC candidate, Yusuf Nuhu got 22,317 votes to defeat his nearest rival, Shehu Baba of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who received 18,235 votes in the Toro Federal Constituency bye-election.

INEC also announced Tunji Olawuyi of the APC as the winner of the bye-election for the Irepodun/Isin/Oke Ero/Ekiti federal constituency of Kwara State.

According to the INEC Returning Officer, Professor Abimbola Adesoji, Olawuyi won with 21,236 votes to defeat Saheed Alatishe of the PDP who scored 18,095.

In Katina State, APC candidate, Abubakar Kusada, emerged winner of the Kankia/Kusada/Ingawa constituency bye-election.

Kusada polled a total of 48,518 votes, ahead of his closest rival, Abdussamad Yusuf of the PDP, who had 20,193 votes.

The Returning Officer, Professor Rasheed Adedayo, while announcing the election results on Sunday at the Kankia INEC collation centre in Katsina said that Kusada, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner of the bye-election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *