News Politics

APC Rejects Akpabio As The Party Leader

APC Rejects Akpabio As The Party Leader
  • PublishedApril 12, 2021

The All Progressives Congress (APC) Akwa Ibom chapter has declared null and void the purported self proclamation of the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Sen. Godswill Akpabio as leader of the party.

The decision was one of the outcome of the second stakeholders meeting of the party held last weekend in Uyo, the State capital. Saying the State party chairman is the head of the party cancus in the state by law.

In a jointly signed communique made available by the stakeholders after the meeting, stakeholders in attendance agreed and endorsed the decision of the State Executive Committee (SEC) to declare as a nullity the unilateral proclamation and announcement of Sen. Godswill Akpabio as the APC State Party Leader.

They collectively described the previous meeting held on Sunday 28, March 2021 as unauthorized, illegal and a gross violation of the Party’s Constitution.

The statement reads, “The Party hereby reminds every member and the general public that the State Chairman or Caretaker Chairman as applicable is the Chairman of the State Caucus of APC as stipulated in Article 12.9 Sub (i) of the party Constitution (October 2014 As Amended) and remains the Party leader in the State until further notice”.

The meeting was well attended by different stakeholders among are; Sen. John James Akpanudoede; the National Secretary of APC Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee, Akwa Ibom APC Caretaker State Chairman, Dr. Ita Udosen; Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Oil and Gas Free Zones Authority (OGFZA), Umana Okon Umana; SSA to the President, Sen. Ita Enang; Dr. Amadu Atai; Member, South South APC Reconciliation Committee, Obong Sunny Jackson; Archbishop Samuel Akpan; Chief Godwin Afangideh and Sam Ewang.

Also in attendance were: Sir Ibanga Akpabio; Chief Otu Ita Toyo; Rt. Hon. Nse Ntuen; Dora Ebong; Mr. Sonny Ayang; Hon. Uwem Udoma; DIG Ekpoudom (rtd.); Effiong Akwa; Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ukoete; Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ekpenyong; Mr. Austin Ekanem; Barr. Effiong Abia; All members of Akwa Ibom APC State Executive Committee; among many other stakeholders.

The stakeholders also used the opportunity to thank President Muhammadu Buhari for the success recorded so far in his administration and for his efforts in tackling corruption, Unemployment, Economy and Security challenges in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *