Alaafin’s Exit: Gbajabiamila’s Installation As Aare Baasofin Cancelled

Alaafin’s Exit: Gbajabiamila’s Installation As Aare Baasofin Cancelled
  • PublishedApril 24, 2022

The installation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, as the Aare Baasofin of Yorubaland (the Supreme Lawmaker of Yorubaland) has been canceled.

Late Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi had conferred the traditional title of Aare Baasofin of Yorubaland on Gbajabiamila on September 2021.

The chieftaincy conferment ceremony was to take place on May 27, 2022.

The monarch, however, died 35 days to the chieftaincy conferment ceremony, which was part of activities to mark the Gbajabiamila’s 60th birthday.

Lanre Lasisi, Special Adviser on Media and Publicity to the Speaker, said the cancellation was necessary to mourn the demise of the monarch.

Lasisi said, “You will recall that his Royal Highness, the late Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III communicated the conferment of the title of Aare Baasofin of Yoruba Land to Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila through an appointment letter dated September 7, 2021, and presented to the Speaker on Thursday, September 30, 2021, at the National Assembly, Abuja, by members of the Oyomesi Council led by the Bashorun of Oyo Kingdom, High Chief Olayinka Ayoola, who is the traditional Prime Minister of Oyo Kingdom and Bishop Ayo Ladigbolu.

“Upon which the Speaker, in turn, accepted the appointment with gratitude to God. However, due to the tight work schedule of the Speaker, the Chieftaincy ceremony could not hold throughout 2021, until this year when the date of May 27, 2022, was agreed with the palace but as God in his majesty will have it the revered monarch passed on Friday night before the distribution of Invitation cards for the event (May Allah grant him Aljanah Firdaus).

“Naturally, the event can no longer hold as the Speaker, the entire Yoruba race, Nigerians home and abroad mourn the demise of the widely respected Monarch.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *