APC Sweeps Oyo Local Government Polls

The Oyo State Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of 33 local governments and 35 local government development areas held on Saturday in the state.

Declaring the results at a press conference at OYSIEC Headquarters on Sunday, the Chairman of the commission Mr. Jide Ajeigbe commended the people of the state for peaceful conduct of election.

He also commended the contestants for organising a violence-free electioneering campaign, urging them to continue demonstrating high level of maturity in the subsequent elections in the state.

Ajeigbe described the election which was conducted in 610 wards and 4,783 polling units among 12 political parties as free, fair and credible.

“It is needful to appreciate the good people of Oyo State for conducting themselves orderly and peacefully through the period of the exercise. Kudos needs to be given to contestants for organising a violence-free electioneering campaign. Your conduct showed the kind of political maturity that Oyo state is known for.

“It is therefore hoped that this kind of maturity exhibited before, during and after the conduct of the will be sustained now that the election is over so that good democratic values be further achieved at the grassroots.”

The Oyo State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had on Thursday announced its withdrawal from participating in the LG polls in the state, said that OYSIEC had failed integrity test.