News Politics

Ugwuanyi Sends Names of 3 Commissioner Nominees To Assembly

  • PublishedJuly 31, 2017

Enugu State Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi on Monday sent the names of three new commissioner nominees to the state Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The commissioner designates are Engineer Aloysius Sunday Ogbodo; Mr Geoffrey Emeka Ede, and Dr Fountain Chukwuemeka Ekochin.

Ugwanyi also sent the name of Mr Samuel Okechukwu Ngene, to be cleared as member of the Enugu State Independent Electoral Commission (ENSIEC)

Ngene was appointed to replace Mr Geoffrey Emeka Edeh, former chairman of Enugu North Local Government Area, who has been appointed to be a commissioner.

Leader of the House, Honourable Ikechukwu Ezeugwu, urged his colleagues to accept the governor’s letter for the confirmation of the nominess. He however said that their screening and possible confirmation would be done on Tuesday.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Honourable Edward Uchenna Ubosi, who read the governor’s message on the floor of the House, directed the Clerk of the House to inform the nominees to make available 25 copies of their curriculum vitae, CV, before the close of work yesterday or this morning to aid the members in the screening.

However, it was gathered that a former commissioner designate, Dr Donatus Ani, who had been cleared by the House was not given any portfolio because his people of Enugu South Local Government Area are averse to his appointment, hence Ugwuanyi was forced to appoint a replacement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *