featured Osun Politics

Osun APC Leaders Raise Alarm Over Inclusion of SDP Chieftain In Membership Reg C’ttee

Osun APC Leaders Raise Alarm Over Inclusion of SDP Chieftain In Membership Reg C’ttee
  • PublishedFebruary 3, 2021

Some leaders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the State of Osun have alerted the National Caretaker Committee of the party on the inclusion of a chieftain of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Tayo Adewakun as a member of APC registration committee for Osun.

According to the APC leaders who spoke under the aegis of Osun Progressive Top, Adewakun is a relative of Senator Iyiola Omisore, the governorship candidate of the SDP in the 2018 election, and has never been a member of the APC.

The APC chieftain in a letter directed to the Chairman of the National Caretaker Committee of the party, Mai Mala Buni, said Adewakun was not eligible to be a member of the party’s registration committee as he was yet to denounce his membership of the SDP.

Dated January 30, 2021, the letter reads: “We write as genuine members and stakeholders of our beloved party, APC, to register our displeasure and formally complain about the inclusion of one Tayo Adewakun, Esq as a member of APC Registration Committee for Osun.

“The ground of our complaint is that Tayo Adewakun has never been a member of our party. Our findings shows that Adewakun is a relative of Otunba Iyiola Omisore and up till this moment, he is still a card carrying member of the SDP and yet to renounce same.

“The generality of the members of our party, APC and the stakeholders of the party are now wondering why a chieftain of SDP would now be saddled with such a sensitive responsibilities, most especially when Mr Tayo Adewakun has not denounced the membership of the SDP and he is not a member of our party.”

The letter which was obtained by OSUN DEFENDER today read: “We equally want to complain about the three slots allotted to our state, Osun, instead of the seemingly expected seven slots.

“Our ground for this complaint is that from the list of the registration committee for the 36 states and the FCT, each of the state has a seven member committee, and that presupposes that each of the state should be entitled to seven slots.

“We call on your Excellency to use your good office to right the wrongs by removing the name of Tayo Adewakun without further delay and replace same with a committed member of our party, and increase the slot of Osun from three to seven to correct the obvious imbalance.

“We need to state that we have absolute confidence in your ability to do justice to our complaints expeditiously base your Excellency’s reputation as a man of integrity over the years.
“We also want to wish you and your committee members success on this current assignment.”

The letter was signed by Alhaji Azeez Adesiji, Deputy Caretaker Chairman of the APC in the state, Messrs Gbenga Akano, Gbenga Awosodo, Kolapo Alimi, Biyi Odunlade, Idowu Korede, Engr Kazeem Salami, Muideen Olateju, Rasheed Opatola, Kehinde Morenikeji, Hon Nureni Adebisi, Sadiq Olajide, Alh Busari Ibraheem and Jimoh Olayemi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *