featured Osun

Aregbesola To Swear-in Councillors, Release Operational Guidelines Tomorrow

Aregbesola To Swear-in Councillors, Release Operational Guidelines Tomorrow
  • PublishedFebruary 5, 2018


Governor Rauf Aregbesola will tomorrow swear-in the 389 councillors elected in the January 27 Local Government Parliamentary Elections.


A statement by the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Adelani Baderinwa in Osogbo on Monday says the event is billed for Bola Ige House, State Secretariat, Abeere at 10am.


Baderinwa stated that expected at the occasion are top government functionaries, political parties’ leaders and sundry stakeholders across the state.


He adds that “The event will afford Ogbeni Aregbesola the opportunity to pass the operational guidelines for local governments and the direction to which the incoming operators should follow.”


“It will be recalled that the Osun Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) on January 27, 2018 conducted elections into 71 wards while 318 candidates were returned unopposed by the electoral body, in accordance with provisions of the laws made by the House of Assembly setting the local governments up and stating its administration.”


“The 30 local governments and 37 local Councils Development Areas, Area Councils and Area Offices will commence work immediately after the swearing in.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *