Falae Returned As SDP National Chairman


A former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Chief Olu Falae, has been returned unopposed as the National Chairman of the Social Democratic Party during the party’s national convention held in Abuja, with a pledge to provide three square meals for average Nigerians.

While 41 others were returned, four other officers won their seats in a keenly contested election.

In his acceptance speech, Falae called on Nigerians desirous of positive and visible changes in 2019 to “join the SDP and contribute their quota towards our quest to evolve a new Nigeria where free basic education, peace and three square meals shall be assured for an average Nigerian.”

He also said that two former governors and a former minister were set to “formally declare their intention to contest some near future elections on the platform of SDP.”

The convention was peaceful and orderly.

A communiqué issued by the National Publicity Secretary of SDP, Alhaji Alfa Mohammed, said Dr. Abdul Ahmed Isiaq was elected as the new Deputy National Chairman of the party, having polled 264 votes to defeat his opponent, Usman Altine, who scored 77 votes.

Similarly, Alhaji Hussaini Saleh Dass polled 183 votes to defeat the incumbent National Secretary of SDP, Dr. Sadiq Abubakar Umar, who scored 163 votes.

Mohammed won the seat of the National Publicity Secretary, having scored 204 votes to defeat his sole rival, Jack Telly-Gyado, who scored 103.

Another keenly contested position was the office of the North-East Zonal Vice chairman won by Mr. Kelvin Damara from Adamawa State.