Aregbesola Frees Five Prison Inmates

By Nofisat Marindoti

Governor Rauf Aregbesola of the State of Osun has granted pardon and approved the release of five prison inmates.

They are of the Kirikiri Maximum Security Prison in Lagos State and Federal Prisons, Ilesa in the State of Osun.

This was contained in the statement signed by the state Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Dr Ajibola Basiru.

Basiru said the release is pursuant to the advice and recommendations of the State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy, under the section 212 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).

Basiru commended Governor Aregbesola for his commitment to the judicial sector reforms and prison decongestion.

The freed prisoners presently serving their jail terms at Federal Prison, Ilesha and Maximum Security Prison, Kirikiri Lagos State include Akeem Afolahan sentenced to death, Olowoyo Oladipo sentenced to death, Alaba Olagunjun Sentenced to death, Olabisi Adediji sentenced to life imprisonment and Oladapo Adediji Sentenced to life imprisonment.


No comments

leave a comment