Aregbesola Appoints Commissioners •Sends Nominees’ List To Assembly For Approval

The governor of Osun State, Mr Rauf Aregbesola, eventually silenced the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) over the formation of his cabinet, as he has sent the list of 14 commissioner-nominees to the State House of Assembly for approval.
The list was sent to the lawmakers on Thursday in a letter to the assembly dated July 28, 2011.
In recent time, the formation of cabinet in the state has generated controversies, especially from the PDP fold, accusing the governor of running a one-man show seven months after he assumed the position of authority in the state.
The stakeholders in the politics of the state, especially the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) on several occasions, has disputed the claim of the PDP, saying that it was difficult for the governor to appoint the commissioners prior to the last general elections, as the PDP  which was controlling the House then might decide to truncate the efforts or corrupt the cabinet.
The party also claimed that, despite not having commissioners in place, the present administration within seven months has achieved what the ousted Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola could not achieve in seven and a half years in terms of bringing dividends of democracy to the footstep of the people.
The State House of Assembly has however confirmed the receipt of the list from the governor.
In a statement signed by the Press Secretary to the Speaker, Mr. Goke Butika, 14 nominees made the list which featured the first Speaker of the Osun State House of Assembly, Barrister Wale Afolabi; the state Director of Research and Strategy for Action Congress of Nigeria, Mr Sunday Akere; Aregbesola’s lawyer, Barrister Bashir Ajibola and the son of the late Chief Bola Ige, Mr Muyiwa Ige.
Besides, Aregbesola also sought the approval of the parliament for appointment of 20 Special Advisers.
Reacting on the list of nominees from the United Kingdom, the Speaker commended the governor for sending a list of proposed slim cabinet, saying that the assembly would check backgrounds of all the nominees with a view to giving Osun State the best team.
Presiding over the plenary session on Thursday, the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Akintunde Adegboye stressed that the state lawmaking body would peruse the books of the nominees, reiterating that there would be no ‘bow and go’.
Other nominees are: Mr. Jayeoba Alagbada, Prof (Mrs.) Olubukola Olawoye, Mrs Mofolake Adetoun Adegboyega, Ms Mobolaji Akande, Mr. Richards Adewale Adedoyin, Mr. Stephen Kola Balogun, Dr. Wale Bolorunduro and Barrister Kolapo Alimi.